Josh Geary won the Clearwater Open in Christchurch earlier this week.  (file image.)
Andrew Reddington / Getty Images

Josh Geary won the Clearwater Open in Christchurch earlier this week. (file image.)

One of New Zealand’s top golfers will go head-to-head with Taranaki’s top amateurs for the Genian Homes Cup when the Taranaki Open begins on Thursday.

After pro Josh Geary won the Clearwater Open in Christchurch earlier this week, he closed the margin in the season’s points balance behind local amateur Sam Jones. Jerry broke his last three holes in the third and final round to win by two with runner-up Jones.

With Jerry on 1205 points and Jones on 1395, the pro would need to win the Taranaki Open at New Plymouth Golf Club or finish 195 points ahead of Jones to clinch the trophy.

“I’m very eager to get that trophy,” Jerry told Sportswire after Christchurch.

Read more:
* Kiwi pro Josh Geary is excited to participate in Super 6
* Kingston, 13, prepares to take on the big guns at the Taranaki Open Golf Tournament
* Kennedy leads a strong lineup of Australian fields to the NZ PGA Championship in Manawatu

Taranaki golfer Sam Jones also competes.

Andy Jackson/Stuff

Taranaki golfer Sam Jones also competes.

He knows he will have a challenge on his hands again against Jones again this week during the 72-hole event, which lasts four days and ends on Sunday.

“It would be hard to beat him around a track he knows well and the way he’s playing at the moment, but my game is in great shape too,” he admits.

Jones, who was equally as responsible, said he was looking forward to the championship, especially at home.

New Plymouth Golf Club general manager Neville Mindonald said Jones has been in a “red hot” since returning home from America.

He said the tournament has attracted 70 and will feature the majority of the best golfers in the country.

Other professionals include Luke Tomei, Michael Hendry, Kerry Mount Castle, Kieran Moi, Harry Bateman, and locals Dominic Parson and Stephen Hayes.

The tournament will also showcase a number of local and national talent, with pros including Robson Tarrant, Ethan Jones, Jack Van Brehen, Louis Baldock, William Harvey, Nathan Clark and James Smithson, Maindonald said.

After winning the championship in 2020, Kieran Moyer will return, while last year’s winner Tyler Wood did not score.

Players will participate between 8 a.m. and 9:50 a.m. Thursday for the first round.

“We would like to see the members and the public on the court during the tournament enjoy watching the best golfers in New Zealand play Ngamoto Course,” said Mindonald.

He said the event is made possible with the help of Venture Taranaki, TSB, Egmont Honey, Manuka Doctor, Cunningham Construction, ABACUS Group, LinePower, Detect Services, Golf New Zealand and Taranaki Golf.

– This content was brought to you by Taranaki Sports News.

Leave a Reply